Charles Ives

Liana Gourdjia, violon / Matan Porat, piano

Sonates pour violon et piano

Claiming to be “free to write music which nobody has to play”, the American composer Charles Ives (1874-1954) prided himself on being dependent on no one and on creating a deliberately outlandish language. Perfectly attuned to this free-spirited music, Russian violinist Liana Gourdjia brings supple lyricism and Israeli pianist Matan Porat the security of powerful technique. Less well known than his huge symphonies, the Sonatas of Charles Ives combine fragility and inspirational power. Putting them together on one recording – like a private journal of the composer’s life – makes it possible to appreciate their full originality. Liana Gourdjia and Matan Porat will play these Sonatas in concert on March 28, 2019, as part of the Festival du Printemps des Arts de Monte-Carlo.


Sonate n°3

1. Adagio
2. Largo d'après les ragtime pieces
3. Adagio cantabile d'après un prélude pour orgue de 1901

Sonate n°1

4. Andante - Allegro
5. Largo cantabile
6. Allegro

Sonate n°2

7. Autumn : Adagio maestoso - Allegro moderato : Sur le thème his exaltation repris dans les songs
8. In The Barn - Presto - Allegro moderato
9. The Revival - Largo - Allegretto

Sonate n°4

10. Allegro
11. Largo : sur le thème Yes, Jesus Loves Me
12. Allegro : sur le thème Shall We Gather at the River ?


Durée totale : 73'16"

Samples Buy Download booklet
Charles Ives
Disque physique :

Pour retirer ou acheter directement au bureau du festival, merci de télécharger et de nous adresser le bon de commande ci-après, dûment complété et accompagné de votre règlement.
Disque physique : 15 €  

Téléchargement à partir de 8€99